The Obligatory Post

January 2nd, 2012. Already made it through one day in 2012, so maybe the world isn’t ending after all! Thank God, because if my Dad spent all that money on my education only for the world to come to an end, I think he’d be pissed. But on that note if the world is going to end, I should really start spending this savings account I’ve been building up. Who needs money when you’re dead?

Anyway.

So the obligatory post. Which one is that? Of course the resolutions and goals for 2012. I figure since I want this blog to be more of a journal, it’s okay to write out my goals and then the world can hold me accountable. Because obviously, the whole entire world is reading this blog currently. If you want to know how I got such a readership after 2 days, shoot me an email, I only charge a small fee to divulge my secrets.

Onto those goals. For now, I really don’t have that many. I have things I know I want to do, but I haven’t really narrowed down a list of the things I’m uncertain about. I think goals and resolutions are really important to push yourself, but I’m way too type-A and I could never put something on this list if I wasn’t positive.

1) Run a marathon. I took the first step when I registered after far too many glasses on wine on Christmas weekend. It’s been in the back of my mind for a year and I know I can do it. It’s going to be hard and it’s definitely a commitment, but that’s why it’s number 1. And the best part is the marathon is the same weekend as my graduation so I’ll have a great cheering squad of my whole family.

2) Read more. I love to read. In the last year I’ve read a lot, but it’d usually be on breaks from school where I hoard books and sit in a corner and read for weeks. Now that I’m done with that whole college thing and I work really weird hours, I have my whole day free where everyone else is working or in class. Instead of just sitting on my couch after I work out or run, I could easily be breezing through books. I don’t want to set an amount to read, but I do want to make a trip to the library once a month.

3) Move on and let go. So that’s rather broad, huh? This past year I’d like to say I’ve grown up a lot. I think I know a lot more about myself and the kind of things that make me tick than before. Unfortunately, I’m also a control freak and it really irritates me when things are out of my control and I can’t change a situation to the way I saw it in my head. For instance, that whole break up thing. That wasn’t supposed to happen. My control-freak self would love to change it and make it work the way I want. Unfortunately, my logical self knows thats not how things work. So I’m going to try really, really hard to just relax and let things go. See what happens and try not to drive myself crazy in the process.

4) Enjoy the situation now. Another broad one, I know. Back to that whole control freak thing, I saw myself in a job in NYC by now living alone. I’ve wanted to live alone for years, but it just wasn’t monetarily realistic. Although I adore my roommate, I’ve discovered I’m not the type of person who should have a roommate. I’m the type of person who wants everything the exact way I left it when I come home, who doesn’t mind be alone when I’m home, who doesn’t want to clean up after others, and doesn’t want others cleaning up after me. Similarly, even though I saw myself in a job in NYC that’s not how things unfolded. I have a job in my field, with a paycheck, immediately upon graduating and that’s more than most people can say. Instead of constantly trying to change things and look at the negative, I think I really need to throw myself into the things that I do have going for me. A roommate whose my best friend and a great first job.

5) Keep reaching for my goals. So now just to contradict myself completely, I’m a planner. I make lists every day. I love crossing things off them, and I’m sad if I go to bed without everything done. I plan my future because, for me, I think that’s the only way to reach where I’m going. So while yes, I don’t want to plan every minute and I think I need to be a little more spontaneous, I also think having a big goal in mind or an end point is the only way I can really get where I want to go. So sure, maybe I need to live in the moment, but I don’t think that should ever mean discounting the big picture.

So that’s it. Those are my five goals for 2012. Only two of them are really tangible, the others are more psychological, I guess. But I think that’s good. It gives me time to work on myself. And I guess that’s what being single is about? I should really rename this: 2012 goals: not to be a crazy control freak. Period.

Oh, I should add, another goal is to find out where you find boys to date. Seriously, where? Send any eligible bachelors this way, please and thanks

2 thoughts on “The Obligatory Post

  1. Pingback: The Big Questions | Lessons on the Run

  2. Pingback: “Carrie Underwood Blonde” | Lessons on the Run

Leave a Reply

