You Drive Me Crazy

This morning I’m going for a free consultation with a running coach here in Boston. Ever since I decided to finally commit to marathon training, I’ve gone back and forth between training plans. I’ve looked at the usual suspects, Hal and Jeff, and I also had Runner’s World come up with a plan for me via Smart Coach.

As far as I know, all of the above are really great options. I’ve used Smart Coach for all of my half marathons and done just fine with them. But I also never, ever stuck to the plan. I was constantly running more, changing the tempo paces, not doing any speed work. I was only accountable to myself so, of course, that means I can take those miles and do as I please.

I felt comfortable with the 13.1 miles, so I felt I could do as I please. I knew in the end I was capable of running 13.1.

26.2 is a different story. I have at least 450 questions every time I look at a plan. I don’t know if I should bother with tempos and speed-work and hills when I’m just aiming to finish. I don’t even know what a good finish time is. I don’t know how acceptable walk breaks are (to me very), I don’t know how much of my training I can potentially do on the treadmill.

So instead of driving myself crazy, I decided what better than to pay someone to drive them crazy? From what I’ve read and heard, the coach I selected definitely knows her stuff.

I’m sure shortly she’ll be singing away those Britney Spears lyrics “you drive me crazy, I just can’t sleep”. But not in that “whoppee, I’m in love” way, more in a “thank GOD this girl is at least paying me otherwise we might have a criminal investigation on our hands” way.

On that note, it’s time to break a sweat.

2 thoughts on “You Drive Me Crazy

  1. I am experimenting with a Smart Coach plan right now and I don’t feel like it’s hard enough. Did you achieve the goal time they stated for you? Did you follow it exactly or add in other workouts?

Leave a Reply

