The Big Questions

I guess I’ve grown to consider myself a “runner“. Still not really sold on telling that to new people when I meet them (you know, those guys I’m attempting to date…they’re knocking down my door. To play with my dog. Just joking, there are none.)

Hi! Meet my best friend

Anywho, I still even think I’m a tiny bit crazy for wanting to run 26.2 miles. Don’t get me wrong, I’m really excited. I mean, I better be. The registration and coaching alone was my whole paycheck. I kid. Kind of. But still, when I got my first week of workouts I had a moment of panic. The “what the hell did you do” type of panic.

And then when I finally told other people to make it more real I had more panic. The type that sets in when everyone else starts asking “what the hell?” too.

Personally, I think that’s a rude response. And don’t worry not everyone said that. Actually no one said that. Not even that ex-boyfriend, who never wanted me to run a marathon. Ever. Now, instead he tells me I should try to find a charity and run Boston. Confusing, much?

One day my ex-boyfriend tidbits will gradually fade out and then we’ll know I’m doing just fine.

So, no one really asked me “what the hell are you doing?”, but a lot of people did ask me “why” and “if I was ready”.

So here are the answers:

1) Why do you want to run a marathon? Well for a lot of reasons. Ever since I started running, I was drawn toward races. I don’t know if it’s because I read blogs and I wanted to do what everyone was doing. But I know I wanted to experience the high. I wanted to see if I would catch the bug. It took me a while to sign up for my first race. I wasn’t huge into 5Ks (if I’m going to run one of those you better bet I’m doing it for time), and a 10K just didn’t seem like enough of a challenge. I knew I could do it. I wanted to push myself further. So I ran three half marathons. And I loved them. And ever since the first one I knew I needed to do the full. Even if it was just one time. I wanted to say I did it. I wanted to know I pushed my body in ways that most people never can or will. And then I ran my second and third half and I knew there had to be something beyond that. I knew I was capable. It was just a matter of pressing that register button.

2) But what’s the real reason? Hm. Well. The above would be my “real” reason. But that’s not to say there aren’t other motivating factors as well. Right now I have a ton of time on my hands. I work a really weird schedule thanks to the magic of 24-hour news stations. I don’t leave for work until 3. I have so much time to train. I could do long runs on the weekdays, weekends, mornings, afternoons. It’s probably the most flexible schedule I will ever have, so why not take advantage of it? And I’d be lying if I said it wasn’t kindofsortofalittlebit about the breakup. I need something to focus on. Something me centric. And it’s not just because someone broke up with me. It’s about the fact that I’ve always wanted to do it and now I don’t need to worry about whether or not I’ll be supported because that person is kindofsortof no longer around. Depending on whether you think his texts and tweets mean “no longer around”.

Please refer to above about when I will stop talking about him.

3) Are you ready? Well according to my coach I am. I apparently have a great base and am ready for a new challenge. Do I feel truly ready? Yeah, I do. I guess I won’t really know until I get to those new-to-me distances. But I think it’s definitely possible. I actually think it’s possible for most people, but that’s another story. My biggest goal is to just feel prepared on race day. I don’t really need to feel prepared now. Cause, well, I’m not yet. But I will be.

And as a side note, I really wish Kelly Ripa would eat a meal. And then take me to Soul Cycle.

Happy Friday!

7 thoughts on “The Big Questions

  1. I think its great that you’re trying to run a marathon and anyone who tells you otherwise is too scared to do it themselves. Running can be a daunting task if you don’t have the love and support to back you and it becomes a mind over matter game with yourself. If you run for yourself and not anyone else you can make great strides in your progress!

  2. Hey! I’m so glad you found my blog because now I get to read yours! I don’t think you are 1 bit crazy for wanting to run a marathon. My big goal this year is to run a half but 13.1 scares me to death. If you follow your plan, believe in yourself and listen to your coach, I know you can do it!

    I can’t wait to keep reading about your journey to 26.2 miles!

    xo Marie
    Chocolate & Wine

  3. For every person who thinks its crazy, there are 100s of fellow runners who understand you completely! 🙂 I think you’ll do great.

    I am really interested to know how your coaching goes… I have never even followed a race plan, let alone a coached one… but I really want to get my half marathon time down, so I am considering it!

Leave a Reply

