Progressing…Or Not

Last night at work was literally one of the best experiences I’ve had thus far. After the disaster that was Monday, it’s amazing how the things that once annoyed you don’t. It’s not like I want to lower my standards, but I have such a better appreciation for the editors I work with on a daily basis after working with one who wasn’t so on top of his game.

In the end it all worked out just fine. Everyone knew it wasn’t my fault that things were just falling apart at the seams. Of course, I don’t want to throw anyone under the bus, but to an extent someone needs to be to blame and it’s hard when you’re the low man on the totem pole.

Anywho, that’s all dealt with and I feel much better after having gone into work yesterday. Not going to lie I was a bit nervous.

Wednesday, already? This week is flying, even for those of us who didn’t get Monday off. I had a 4 mile run on the schedule today followed by some of the lower body work that the coach taught me last week. Monday’s workout also consisted of some of that lower body work. Even though it felt fairly easy while doing it, I was pretty sore all day yesterday!

The coach has me adding in some progressive runs. She’s really trying to teach me not only to maintain a consistent pace, but also to figure out how to run a slow pace and a little bit of a faster pace. I’m sure for a lot of seasoned runners, this isn’t brain surgery. But I’ve always been bad about pacing. On the treadmill, it’s no big deal. But outside I struggle.

Monday’s 3 miles were progressive on the treadmill because I was still getting over the cold. But I took today’s 4 outside. My goal was to do the first at just under a 9:00 and get progressively faster. Shocking right?

These were my final splits:

  • Mile 1: 8:30
  • Mile 2: 8:01
  • Mile 3: 8:22
  • Mile 4: 8:21

Clearly I majorly failed at the progression. I think mile two was a fluke and 3 and 4 I blame on the wind. It basically propelled me forward for all of the first half of the run and then I ran against it for all of the second half. And that wind was no joke, 50 mph gusts and a wind advisory. So….not my fault, right? Still good splits none the less.

I have a coffee date shortly that I’m pretty excited about, so time to get ready!

Leave a Reply

